On blogging: Tearing down the stage

Early on in this journey, I’ve found that problem with blogging is that it’s hard not to feel like you’re on stage.

The problem with being on stage is that it gives you the urge to be a character.

But in reality, we don’t really converse with those on stage, those characters – we watch them from a distance (assuming we’re interested at all). But my goal in blogging is to contribute meaning through conversations about ideas, people and experiences. Conversations require real people talking to real people.

Besides, in life it’s hard enough to act independently and to resist the urge to play roles. I guess in the permanence of the blogging world, it all seems magnified.

That’s why I’m extra appreciative of those genuine bloggers out there who seem to break through that urge of being a character.

It’s tricky, and I’m not sure I’m there yet. But this is a start, eh?

It was my good buddy Lucas’ post today over at Citizen-and-Soldier that got me thinking this. It’s not necessarily that he wrote anything earth shattering, but when I read it, I couldn’t help but smile and think, “That’s Lucas.”

His other posts tend to be great introspections on the difficulties of being so far away from home and friends. As a soldier deployed in Iraq, he’s brave in more ways than one.

Rock on, big guy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Branding, Life, On blogging

Leave a Reply

