I’m quotable

At least MainStreet.com thinks so.

Evan from their team contacted me a while back as the flood waters around Des Moines were beginning to recede. He was developing a story on social media’s role during the disaster. Evan contacted me based on this tweet:

…uh, must have been one of those mornings.

…Anyway, while I personally don’t use Twitter all that much, Evan’s on to something with his story. Amidst all the turmoil and heartbreak surrounding the floods, it was refreshing and exciting to see new communication tools in action – especially aggregate sites like IowaFlood.com.

And check out how Twitter has been playing roles in earthquakes and tornadoes.

What do you think about all this?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I’m quotable

  1. Diane Paul

    Hi there,
    I am working on a project with the UN relating to human rights and natural disasters. I want to know more about twittering and am thinking it could be very useful in communicating to colleagues quickly with pieces of critical information. But I am pretty much a techno idiot. Most of my colleagues and I communicate critical data via SMS and twittering seems much more effective. Question: can you recommend a site that expains step by step how to twittter?
    Thanks very much for your help.
    Diane Paul

  2. Diane – I’m not much of a Twitter expert, but try starting with this YouTube tutorial: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OYHUOESHpVk

Leave a Reply

