So, what do you do?

I like when people ask me what I do.

I start by telling them I’m a writer, and then they immediately ask what it is I write.

I say, “Well, I write for a small word of mouth marketing firm. I write for their blogs and newsletters.”

And if they’re still listening, I explain how we teach word of mouth marketing. I explain how above all, we believe in the good guys — the ones who see making people happy as the best way to make money. The ones who strive for remarkable. The ones who stand for something.

And usually someone will say something to the effect of, “Yeah, but does that really work?”

And then I smile and say, “Ever heard of Zappos?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “So, what do you do?

  1. Blinn

    Dude,

    I just went to that site and bought a pair of shoes. I hate shopping for shoes and without having to pay shipping I really have no risk. If they don’t fit I can just send them back and get a different size…Awesome.

    PS–I think that counts as word of mouth success.

  2. I hate shoe shopping too man. Glad to hear I could help you out.

    Haha, and yeah, definitely some WOM going on here.

Leave a Reply

